OK so I am new to F Class, What scope do I need??

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

ChrisG

#1 Postby ChrisG » Sun Jul 10, 2005 7:32 pm

Ok, So I am new to F Class, what scope do I need?? What do new shooters need to know. What are the pitfalls. Where to buy. What do you use and why ie brand, power etc, reticle type (why do you use this one) bases and mounts.

Simon C

#2 Postby Simon C » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:01 pm

Hi Chris & welcome to this challenging sport. I use a Nightforce NXS 5.5-22 x 50 scope on my F-std rifle. The rings are also NF. I also have a 20MoA NF tapered picatinny base. Most of the guys who shoot at aour club use the NF scopes. The NXS series are mil spec scopes which have excellent clarity, adjustment and reliability. The parallax is adjusted thru side focus which is much more convenient when the rifle is all set up. This comes in handy when u want to watch the mirage closely.

My recommendation to u would be to buy the best scope u can. A great rifle with a garbage scope is a recipe for disaster (a lesson i learned with one of my hunting rifles) so if it means waiting a little longer to get the money together, then do it. U can check out the NXS scopes here http://www.nightforceoptics.com/

I like the 22 power as we shoot out to 1000yds on our range and this gives a good, consistent sight picture. I have tried the x15 but dont like it as much. In terms of reticles, i have the MLR reticle (same as mil dot but with stadia lines) which i have found helps heaps when measuring spotter error. It depends how u prefer to shoot. I use a combination of holdovers and sight adjustment when shooting so the MLR suits me jut fine.

The best thing for u to do would be to get down behind some other Fclass rifles on the mound (i assume u have joined a club??) and actually look at targets. This will give u a better idea of what suits you best in terms of power range and setup.

Good luck :D