F CLASS 'X' RING

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

Cliff Austen

F CLASS 'X' RING

#1 Postby Cliff Austen » Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:47 pm

Looking for comments on having the F Class 'X' ring in WHITE.
In most cases the centre is Black. In bad light, rain etc finding the centre is difficult, through most scopes.
Personally, I struggled to get a focus/sighting on the centre in the recent Canberra Queens during the light, misty rain.
Comments?
Cheers
Cliff

johnk

Re: F CLASS 'X' RING

#2 Postby johnk » Sat Nov 21, 2015 9:01 pm

I agree with you that it is a challenge, which is why I try to aim off centre on a clear visible line for preference, rather than centre the crosshairs. I've done that since I started shooting match rifle back in 2000. I must admit I didn't shoot on the old championship target much. but the flaring white never attracted me when the light was up.

I expect that some TR shooters might not go for it, so their needs would have to be considered too.

AlanF

#3 Postby AlanF » Sun Nov 22, 2015 7:00 am

I'm wondering if an "off-white" X-ring would be better received by TR generally, and be less likely to cause the "flare" that John mentions. There is also the question of spotter colour - to avoid confusion, we might need to go to a red spotter always.

ecomeat

#4 Postby ecomeat » Sun Nov 22, 2015 7:20 am

if the X ring was a "matte grey", I think it could work. Most scopes would surely have a clearer aim than onto a black background, and there shouldnt be any of the white flare that people talk about.
Still simple Black and White colours for printing, and existing spotter colours would still work.
Could any graphically gifted folks (Braunds come to mind :) ) dummy something up to give us a look at what it might look like ?
Extreme accuracy and precision shooting at long range can be a very addictive pastime.

Brad Y

#5 Postby Brad Y » Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:14 pm