Advice on Winchester brass quirk?

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

DenisA

Advice on Winchester brass quirk?

#1 Postby DenisA » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:40 pm

Hi All,

Apologies if this is a silly question.

I shoot a .300wsm :lol:

I've been using Norma brass in the past and due to poor availability, I've gone to Winchester. I've never used it before. These cases have been fired 3 times. When inspecting them after a clean tonight, I noticed a dead straight line that runs the length of the case. On this one case the line will catch my finger nail. There are a few other cases that a line can be seen but my finger nail won't feel it.

From what I've read, I understood that brass shells were formed up from a brass button. These lines look like some kind of seam??

I've never seen anything like this with Norma, Lapua or Federal.

There's only one on each case, so it's not an impression from the chamber.

No line can be seen from inside the case.

What is this line?

Is this typical of Winchester brass?

Should I be concerned that my nail catches this particular line?

Thanks.....

Steve N

Re: Advice on Winchester brass quirk?

#2 Postby Steve N » Thu Feb 12, 2015 3:33 am

Denis could it be a scratch from ejection? Perhaps a tiny piece of crap that the case is sliding over when being pulled out?

Barry Davies

#3 Postby Barry Davies » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:14 am

More likely to be from your die -- a rust spot maybe. Easily checked, simply run a case through again and see if another scratch appears.

DenisA

#4 Postby DenisA » Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:12 am

Hi guys, thanks for the replies.

It's definitely not a scratch. The line runs from the head all the way over the shoulder and down the neck. It's dead straight and consistent in depth the whole length.. I've never run the ejector spring in the bolt head, so the case is not being scraped along the side of the chamber or action as it's being extracted.