6 BR or Dasher

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

MCLE

6 BR or Dasher

#1 Postby MCLE » Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:13 pm

Hi all I'm having a cople of New Rifles made as we speak.Both new Barnard model Ps.Both in 308 and one barrel in 6BR .One of the rifles if for my young son.My smithy was leaning on the side of the Dasher and his shoots up a storm but I decided to go with the 6mmBR( I'm lazy so the Fireforming put me off a little ) for the start can always get him to make it into a dasher.I am getting another barrel made(Don't Panic Garry ) for my son so we can shoot Fopen together when we get the erge.And I think he wonts a Dasher ( Not as lazy).So my question is does the BR give away to much against a dasher as I have no experience with eather caliber or will the dasher only come into its own in bad conditions.Cant give my son too much advantage thanks.
Michael H

Simon C

#2 Postby Simon C » Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:33 pm

That extra bit of capacity is worth it IMO. My Dasher is a laser (although I haven't shot in a long time). From a fire forming perspective, it was easy using the false shoulder method with the bullet jammed 15thou in Lapua brass. I did not lose one case out of 200 from memory. It shot like stink fire forming at club shoots and finding a load was really easy. I used the 105 A Max which was a great performer. I used it from 300m - 1000yds with good results.
"Aim small, miss small"

Simon

bruce moulds

#3 Postby bruce moulds » Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:49 pm

campo,
the other thing about your dasher is long barrel life.
I don't know of a barrel that has lasted so long.
how many years old is it now?
keep safe,
bruce.
"SUCH IS LIFE" Edward Kelly 11 nov 1880
http://youtu.be/YRaRCCZjdTM

MCLE

#4 Postby MCLE » Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:05 pm

Thanks Simon c .Did you shoot yours as a BR or go straight to a Dasher .would you say that the 6BR is as good out to 700y as the Dasher ??

Simon C