Dyer HBC's.

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

richmac

Dyer HBC's.

#1 Postby richmac » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:22 pm

Hi All
I have been talking to a few people regarding the Dyer 155 Hbc projectiles. They had a few supply probs awhile back owing to machine problems.
Since this has happened quite a few shooters have commented on how the profile has changed slightly and the specs are different, Where you had your jump you now have to advance it as they are 12 tho shorter.
Also quite a few shooters have commented on the groups being larger.
Has anyone had problems with them?
Check your ogive and see if you have a variance.

Brad Y

#2 Postby Brad Y » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:10 pm

Its still being used to devestating effect over here. Bloke hit a 60.8 at 800 on sunday in some pretty nasty fishtailing winds. Same loads as the old ones too. 10 thou jam is working in most guns.

IanP

#3 Postby IanP » Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:43 am

I'm new to shooting the 308W but not to load development and found the difference in the new projectiles to be substantial. I could not get a decent group with the new version of bullets using the load I originally developed.

It took ages to to get the group size down to 0.5 moa and even then with the unexplained occasional vertical flyer. This was done using the same barrel as before with the original HBCs. The seating depth is different old to new as the new bullet sits further into the throat.

It seems in conversation with local and interstate experienced FS shooters that the new HBC batches are not as good as the old! Please add your comments on what you have found using them!

Ian

Sambo

#4 Postby Sambo » Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:54 pm

I'm really keen to get this post going again.

I bought 1000 x batch 17 HBC's in January and have happily been working through them with great results. However the WA Queens is on in a month or so and I will need to purchase more projectiles prior.