Bullet stabilization problem ?

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

ecomeat

Bullet stabilization problem ?

#1 Postby ecomeat » Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:41 am

I am a newbie, and have only been shooting F Class for a year, using a BAT actioned 6 x 47 Lapua in F Open but have started to notice an issue with erratic performance at 300 yards.
I am shooting 105 gn Berger VLD's, and now 105 gn Hybrids, at 2975 fps out of a 30 inch, 1 in 8 twist Krieger SS barrel
I am consistently shooting 58's to 60's at 400 yds to 800 yds but only 56's and 57's at 300 yds.
Last weekend would be a classic example: 57.0 at 300 yds, 60.7 at 500 yds
"Could" it be an issue with stabilization of bullets that are undoubtedly designed for long range performance ?
Has anyone else ever had a similar issue ? Or is it just "me" ?
I am extremely conscious of doing my best re consistency in every aspect of releasing each shot.....grip, breathing, trigger squeeze etc etc. Am using a 5-50 power March scope to no excuses re sight picture.......just the frustration of dropping 3-4 points where I should be nailing x's all day.
Any thoughts ??
Ecomeat
Extreme accuracy and precision shooting at long range can be a very addictive pastime.

Barry Davies

#2 Postby Barry Davies » Wed Apr 04, 2012 7:23 am

Try reducing your MV by 100 f/s
Barry

AlanF

#3 Postby AlanF » Wed Apr 04, 2012 7:51 am

Ecomeat,

It does appear that your loads are not tuned for 300, but somewhere further out. I would try some ladder testing at 300. Normally I ladder test at 500 because you get a bigger range of elevation to analyse, but in your case, with poor accuracy at 300, you could get enough elevation variation to see some patterns. If you don't know what ladder testing is, Google it - there's a few explanations of the method around the web.