Scopes - FFP or SFP for F Class

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

jrobbs

Scopes - FFP or SFP for F Class

#1 Postby jrobbs » Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:37 am

Hi,

Thanks for the add to the forum.

I’m new to the sport and was wondering what the opinion out there is in relation to FFP V SFP scopes for F Class.

I use a SFP for 50m bench rest.

Also what is a good size scope to begin with. I’m currently in the process of buying a .223.

Thanks

Jr

Trevor Rhodes

Re: Scopes - FFP or SFP for F Class

#2 Postby Trevor Rhodes » Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:36 pm

A scope in 1/8s of a minute, min of 24 power, cost min $1800 and my choose is fine cross hairs with a dot in the middle.

Tim N

#3 Postby Tim N » Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:46 pm

SFP scopes are fine for F class, the fine reticule at high power is best- the FFP is more for for sniper stuff - no disrespect meant by that comment.
I don’t know if anyone uses a FFP scope in F class.
We don't rise to the level of our expectations, we fall to the level of our training. Archilochos 680-645 BC

AlanF

#4 Postby AlanF » Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:59 pm

Very few use FFP in F-Class, nor mil adjustments. We don't need to range-find on human torsos, in fact we don't need to range-find at all (targets are at known distances). And, everyone talks MOA when discussing come-ups and wind strength. Get a scope with plenty of adjustment both Vert and Hor (a 30mm tube usually ensures that). I agree with what Trev says re: magnification, click value and quality. Better to buy a used expensive scope than a new cheaper one. Reticule is an individual thing - depends on whether you hold centre or hold off, and individual preference - I personally don't like clutter with lines and things that are never used.

Gyro

#5 Postby Gyro » Wed Jul 15, 2020 2:05 pm