Advice on omark needed.

For general announcements, and anything which does not fit into one of the categories below.

Moderator: Mod

Lammi

Advice on omark needed.

#1 Postby Lammi » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:23 pm

Hey lads, I'm trying to get into a .308 target rifle fit for competing in F/TR type matches. Ultimately after practice & learning to read conditions this is what I would like to do. I'm new to shooting. Anyhow, from what I have researched a good starting rifle will be an omark 44. I can't find a lot of information on these rifles, so I would appreciate if someone could tell me what to look for when buying one & what I would need to make sure of before I expect a decent amount of accuracy.

Thanks in advance.

Cutanything

Re: Advice on omark needed.

#2 Postby Cutanything » Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:02 am

http://m.usedguns.com.au/Product_Desc.aspx?Pid=93777. And no this is not my rifle just a suggestion
Last edited by Cutanything on Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lammi

#3 Postby Lammi » Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:04 pm

Yes mate there's a plethora of Omarks for sale on various websites, but I don't know what I'm looking for, and I can't really find much information on them, so I can't tell which one to buy is the right one.

Barry Davies

#4 Postby Barry Davies » Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:27 pm

Best to take someone with you that is familiar with Omarks and knows what to look for.
You run a risk purchasing sight unseen.
Barrel could be worn out.
Locking lugs worn giving excessive headspace.
Terrible trigger.
Is it fitted with an adaptor for fitting ANY make of barrel?
If Barrel is good --what twist? How long ? Needs to be 28" at least. Needs to be at most 12 twist or something faster for heavy projectiles ( like 175, 185 etc ) -- for FTR
Then it needs to be fired to prove accuracy.
Something to think about.
Barry

johnk

#5 Postby johnk » Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:22 pm